Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Techno Drone Rigger
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
GregPogor
Hi here. First post.

I'm pretty new to GMing Shadowrun, though I've spent some years Gming other games and shadowrunning since the second edition. Still wrapping my head around the fourth edition, though.

One of my players wishes to play a technomancer with an expertise in drones. That raises a couple of interesting questions which I beg you to answer...

1) it is said that a technomancer can not "load" any program that have a Pilot rating, like an agent or a drone ("That's what the Sprites are for", as they say in the book). That means that the Techno cannot "subscribe" a drone, right?

2) and if it's so, the Techno cannot issue commands to the drone, since he's not its user, right?

3) any means a Techo can "jump into" a vehicle or a drone without it being subscribed to him?

4) once a Sprite is inside a drone, actually using it as a shell with the ad-hoc power, are the drone stats any use, or every used rating, from its firewall to its response, is the sprite's?

The main problem I have with the techno-rigger is his efficiency. A rigger can issue commands to his drone, and the Pilot rating try its best to do it, while the rigger may do something else (eg rigging another drone). A techo may compile ONE sprite at the time, and as I understand it cannot "jump into" a drone or a car. Even when ressorting to massive Sprite registering, a Techo seems a bit unsuited to rigging jobs.

But I love challenges, and the character is promising. Any help? How do I make it more efficient?

Oh, and: is Command rating good for anything else than teleoperating drone in cold or AR on delicate tasks, as stated on p. 220? It's said that a rigger rigging a drone in hot use his own stats and skills - how about making it Command+Piloting skill?
Nikoli