Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Problem with subscribed devices
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Xeros
I have a PAN. Let's say I have a smartgun system subscribed, a memory module, a surveillance drone hovering above my shoulder looking backwards, and a combat drone waiting patiently a mile away.

All 4 of these systems are subscribed to my PAN, so will only acknowledge commands coming from me.

1. Does the drone a mile away only receive commands if it can get in proximity of my signal rating, or can I access the local city network, find it, and issue commands.

2. If it's outside my signal rating, can it even be subscribed?

3. If it can't be subscribed, can I have it be dormant so that Joe rigger that finds it can't just boot it up. Maybe by a transmitted passkey that I own. A drone doesn't have it's own PAN though, no system rating, no firewall. But it manifestly receives and broadcasts a wireless signal.

4. If it's out of range, can I send a machine sprite to activate it and drive it back to me. I note sprites don't have a signal rating, which means I guess that they must operate from my PAN?

Oi vey, this is confusing. The concepts are good, but it's taking a while to digest.

I still have trouble accepting the fact that any wireless component cannot be hacked, without going through the PAN. Why can't I hack your smartgun directly? It's broacasting a wireless signal (yes, a short range one, let's say I can get close), and certainly receiving one.
PlatonicPimp
My view is that you can access things through the cell network, ignoringyour own signal rating, unless you are running in hidden mode. In hidden mode you are not hooked up to the cell network and must be within signal rating range to communicate.
Teulisch
1) depends. are you willing to leave a data-trail? people listen to what information goes through those nodes. so yes you can, but its unwise.