Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: books to read
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Straight Razor
OK. I've been playing SR for 3 or 4 years now. I actually like the Rules to it. I find the world great to. SR4 i'll pretend never happened. I have read through most of the core rule books.
However i have not read any of the fiction books. I plan on going to pick some up soon, and i was wanting some suggestions on what to read first; best authors ect...

I would also like to ask what other non-SR movies and books you all like. I'm not asking the old "SR feel books and movies" question. Just generaly speeking.

O. YES! and i must ask WTF is BABY
Fix-it
Anything by William Gibson.

Snow Crash and The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson.

Altered Carbon by Richard K. Morgan.

No Idea. Question Seconded.
Siege
Walter Jon Williams - especially "Hardwired" and "Voice of the Whirlwind".

"When Gravity Fails" by George Alec Effinger.

-Siege
Birdy
QUOTE (Fix-it)

No Idea. Question Seconded.

I'd say anything by Mr. Morgan. His latest is an interestinc view into Shadowrun corporations

Some of the CoDominion Stuff by Pournelle, mostly the short stories

Gibson I'd take with some Salt (Lemon and Tequilla). The second trilogie starting IIRC with "Virtual Light" is quite nice

And while not a book: Soylent Green!

Birdy
Siege
Heh.

For twisted cop/crime dramas - "The Usual Suspects", "LA Confidential", "Payback", "Ronin".

War flicks - "Soldier", "Aliens", "Saving Private Ryan", "Blackhawk Down".

There isn't a single movie, in my opinion, that embodies SR, although several come close.

-Siege
PBTHHHHT
QUOTE (Fix-it)

Good book! I endorse his recommendation! biggrin.gif I heard there's a sequel to this novel, I'll probably be reading sometime soon.
nezumi
There is actually a *HUGE* movie thread somewhere. The only cyberpunk movies that immediately leap to mind as being worth half a moment is Blade Runner (VERY good) and Johnny Mnemonic (NOT very good).