Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mentor SPRITES?!?!?!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
OmegaSupreme
I am fairly new to SR only having played 3 games with a guy that ran 2nd ed about 12 years ago, and reading a novel (near the same time) as an alternative to my favorite FASA production: Battletech. So when one of my players for the Temple of Elemental Evil D&D game I was running said he was interested in SR4, I decided to look further into it.

I have now read 4 total novels, read the SR4 sourcebook all the way through, and GMed about 6 sessions. My new players didn't know what to do for characters so I created most of them. One is a Technomancer - Rigger who is the focus of this question.

background on the char first.
QUOTE (Background)
Orphened at birth, the other children found her disturbing to be around.  Her constant conversation to the network around her and her constant tampering wit the orphanage's network kept people away and leading her to leavne and start a life on the street at 14, just after the crash of '64.  A powerful sprite formed by Deep Resonance itself not only gained its freedom during the crash, but also gained power and knowledge ehnough to become a living entity on it's own; it became a true "Ghost in the Machine".  Finding a lost, wandering young otaku, it took her under its wing and showed her how to control and use her power to its fullest degree.  Finding her "Big Brother" and "true friends" (other sprites), she now knows how to use her talents and has a certain affection for creating sprites in local machines to give them "life". 

Now that you have read through my background and the character's:
What does everyone think of Big Brother, a mentor sprite?
Is it too much of a leap to pull mentor spirits over for the technomancer (matrix mage)?

here is the adapted spirit as I wrote it up for the Quality = Mentor Sprite 5 BP
Big Brother (saphire bear icon) - protector, teacher