Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Eye Mods
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Deamon_Knight
I had a disagreement with a player as to why a mage (esp. a human) should get some cyber eye mods. He thinks that most any eye cyber can be gotten as optical goggles as well so a mage can use it. I know you can get optical magnification as binoculars, and I suppose as goggles as well (although I don't believe this is in the main book). But low light, and thermo? I'm no engineer but I'm pretty sure these require an electronic manipulation of the original image, so a mage couldn't rely on them for spellcasting.

Anyone know better one way or the other?
Dog
Never seen any reference to "optical thermal." Can't imagine any such technology either. Pretty certain it doesn't exist. In fact, optical means "related to sight." In the discussion you're having, make sure he understands the "non-electronic" connotation. Could just be an issue of somantics.

Pretty hard to "prove" that something doesn't exist, though. Tell your buddy to give you ten bucks, and you'll give him a c-bill when he shows you a reference to "optical thermal" or (chuckle) "optical ultrasound." Then buy me a beer sometime.
Liper
actually this issue was brought up, since it's bought and paid for with essence a magician can use it, at least it was true in sr3.
Deamon_Knight
I agree Liper, as does my friend, about implanted gear. My friend claimed that getting such gear implanted in a mage wasn't nessecary because you could get this gear as external goggles without the accompanying essence and magic loss.
PiXeL01
I think the exception lies with magnification. It used to be that mages couldnt use Electronic but only optical. Now I dont know if they fixed that one
cykotek