Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Metaplot: Otaku and Technomancers
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
cczernia
I'm relatively new to Shadowrun (played a little bit of the early edition but didn't really follow it) and love the new 4th edition. However, I have a few questions regarding the setting.

1. Is there a page or something that has a more detailed brake down of the metaplot.

2. What are the otaku. They seemed to be a big deal but the book only skims over them. It suggests that they morphed into the Technomancers but there isn't much about technomancers beyond mechanics.

The reason I ask is that I wanted to include the otaku in my game. I don't really care if I go off canon but I like to know when I do.
Jaid
the otaku (AKA children of the matrix, iirc) were people who were able to connect to the matrix with nothing more than a datajack and an ASIST converter, iirc. they are otherwise very similar to technomancers minus the ability to create sprites.

oh, and also, they don't have a resonance rating or anything that i can recall... so they can get cyber really easily.

they previously had to be young (like 5 years old up to about their early 20s, when they started to lose their powers. it was called fading when that happened iirc).

they formed into tribes on the matrix, and could be created by AIs, or by being exposed to the deep resonance iirc.

that's about as much as i know about them... can't remember much on the rules for them i'm afraid... frown.gif
RunnerPaul
Also "ASIST Converter" is the old terminology for what's called a Sim Module in this edition (listed under commlink accesories).
BishopMcQ