Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Conversion Query
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Chaos Kingpin
Hi!

I am new to SR4. I really wanted to play SR, and had purchased the first book and quite a few sourcebooks back in the day but never could get others to play. Well, now I have started a group of five players plus myself (GM) and we have almost finished the character creation process. Finally I WILL PLAY!!!

I have read through the SR4 rules a few times now and most of it has sunk in. I have found some great GMing tips here, as well as the wonderful makeshift GM screen. I have purchased some older modules SR1 through 3 to help inform the adventure I am planning, and some source material. I have not acquired the older rulebooks yet and am having trouble with some conversions.

I downloaded the character conversion document, and the matrix conversion post is great, but what about tests? The tests in all my modules have an attribute or skill, followed by a number in parenthesis e.g. Body (6), Willpower (4), or Corporate Etiquette Skill (5). Are these "dice pools" as I have seen mentioned, or is the dice pool the Attribute or skill rating with the number in parenthesis being a target number?

Is there a quick and easy way to convert these types of tests? Also, how did perception tests work before? Can I just use the same success to result ratio or would this make things too easy/difficult for players?

And last but not least, Thanx
BookWyrm
Check both the main site FAQ & the conversion guide you downloaded. I'll follow up later, but when I posted this, my eyes are tired & I need sleep.
Critias