Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The new Shadowrun novels
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Lwhitehead
Hi it goods that there are new Shadownrun novels out there two by Steven Kenson, so I wonder as a hopeful Author myself is there hope for me to write a Shadowrun novel who and were do contact via E-Mail.

I've got an idea for a main character of the novel being a female Elf born to Human parents, who were high end corprate family in Seattle. Her childood was hidden from view of the outiside world due to the simple fact that her parents consider her to stain on there perfect life, they were afraid that she would ruin there corprate life and style since some suits take a dim view of inperfect familes specially of there higher ups.

LW
nick012000

Elven kids wouldn't be a 'stain' on corp suits. Depending on the corp, no metahuman would be. If she lived in Japan, and was an ork or troll, then it's a possibility.
mfb
i disagree. i think it's clear that racism is fairly prevalent in SR. Humanis had a presidential candidate, after all. open discrimination might be uncommon in corporate enclaves (but not that uncommon, i'd bet), but subtle things like unofficial glass ceilings for metas and parents of metas? closer scrutiny by corporate security, higher likelihood of prosecution for minor offenses? denial of loans? that stuff should be commonplace, and targetted against all races.
nick012000
The thing is, while all the other metatypes get discriminated against for being 'worse', elves get discriminated against because people think that elves think that they're better than them, i.e. tall poppy syndrome.
JM Hardy
QUOTE (Lwhitehead)
Hi it goods that there are new Shadownrun novels out there two by Steven Kenson, so I wonder as a hopeful Author myself is there hope for me to write a Shadowrun novel who and were do contact via E-Mail.