Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Watchers & Search Power
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Zen Shooter01
So I was using watchers in play for the first time last night. First, is there a limit to how large an area a watcher can Search? Or how big an area any critter with the power can Search?

Second, has anyone else noticed that despite the book's claim that watchers "excel" at using Search, they suck? MAG + INT = 2 dice, on a Search (5, 10 minutes) test. I'm not very good at math, by I'm pretty sure that on the average, it will take the watcher about 80 minutes to complete a search, and with a dp of 2, the chances of glitching are pretty high.

And if you use the roll limit optional rule from pg. 58, the watcher becomes all but totally incapable of finding anything, because it gets to roll 2 dice twice trying to accumulate 5 successes.

And as far as I can tell, the size of the area to be searched doesn't matter at all to the time needed to complete the search. So never tell a watcher to search the house; tell it to search the Earth.
Elve
The size increases the threshold...

Situation Threshold Modifier
Target is more than a kilometer away + kilometers
FrankTrollman
Actually, with a dicepool of 2, they'll lose interest before it's even possible for them to complete the task. However, using the powers of Teamwork, it is possible for a cloud of say 4 watchers to complete a basic search task in 20 minutes, which is pretty good for free.

Admittedly, it takes 9 Watchers to do that on average, and chances are that's more than your charisma. But you can retry and Watchers don't cost anything.

-Frank
BlackHat
QUOTE (Elve)
Target is more than a kilometer away + kilometers

But you could still say "search the earth" and if the target happens to be only 2 kilometers away your threshhold is only raised by 2... even though he could have been anywhere on earth.

if you say "search the building" and he's in the next building over, you won't find him.