Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Riggers in SR4!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
eightball1011
Hey. I looked everywhere for a post similar to this but just couldn't find what I was looking for, so here it is.

I am very new to SR4, as in downloaded it yesterday. I am wanting to make a rigger, but never have before. I understand how the commlink and control rig work, but what about the autosofts? Do I have to have autosofts and firewall programs for the control rig, each vehicle, and each drone? Or do the softs and firewall for my control rig handle all of that? Is firewall and control all that I need?
Will I need basic computer hacking skills in order to use drones and vehicles? Sorry, but SR4 "wireless world" section just all seems like a jumbled mess for me.

I read through this section in the book, but found almost no mention of riggers, except the 2 page section under Hackers. Someone please let me know what all is needed for a rigger to function.

Thanks in advance for your help.
hobgoblin
each drone and comlink will need a firewall. but only the drones need autosoft (its the drones skills).

for skills, focus on electronic warfare (for messing with other peoples drones), maybe a bit of hacking if you feel like taking drones over rather then just messing with them, and vehicle skills if you plan to drive them. remember that any vehicle with a pilot rating is potentialy a drone.
Voran
If you can afford it, I'd say just go for skill groups that let you do both rigging and hacking. In a way, I find rigging and hacking to be a bit easier to get into that previous rigging/decking from SR3 and before. You no longer have to invest a large essence chunk to get rigger cybergear, nor spend as much to get a decent 'deck' in this case, comlink. Hell, you can cart around a handful or more of deck-like comlinks nowadays in SR4.
hobgoblin