Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What is/was Psychotropic IC?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Glayvin34
I'm a Noob to SR4, but I noticed the term Psychotropic IC a few times in the SR4 book, and a lot more in the SR3 flavor stuff I've been reading.
What were the rules for it in SR3? Is it different than Black IC? Is it likely to reappear in the Wireless Matrix book?
stevebugge
Black IC could kill with simsense, but that was pretty much it's only trick until Psychotropic IC came along. Psychotropic IC could knock you out and reprogram your mind to varying extents. A particularly ugly one called Judas would cause you to subconciously betray your teammates.
mdynna
Psychotropic IC is a sub-form of Black IC. "Normal" Black IC simply tries to "fry" or "destroy" your brain. Psychotropic IC tires to alter your brain in some shape or form. The rules for Psychotropic IC for SR3 were in the book Matrix iirc. There are a few different "flavours" of Psychotropic IC. These are the different kinds that I can remember without the book in front of me:
Matrix Phobia - the victim develops a phobia to the Matrix and becomes extremely agitated and even violently ill when inside
Judas - the victim feels a compulsive need to tell the truth, and to brag about everything that they have done
Loyalty (forget the "real" name for this one) - the victim now feels a deep loyalty to the company/organization running the IC and will no longer have any motivation to harm them

That's all I remember right now. Maybe someone with the book can add to this.
Kanada Ten
I think the rules are in Cannon Companion, for SR3. They function somewhat like personality fix BTLs, only more permanent.
Glayvin34
QUOTE (Kanada Ten)
I think the rules are in Cannon Companion, for SR3. They function somewhat like personality fix BTLs, only more permanent.

Scary drek. Did the Canon Companion have actual rules and FX for BTLs?
Kanada Ten