Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 4th Edition vs. Previous editions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Willowhugger
So what's your opinion on how 4th edition compares.

I have no experience with the previous ones.
blakkie
I'm not sure why you would ask this question? Just curiousity, or do you have a purpose? Because if you already have SR4 and are playing it there really is little reason for you to regress to the prior version you do not know.
mfb
SR4 offers faster play in the opinion of most players. it also offers integrated rules for a wireless setting.

SR3 offers more realistic, complex play, and greater control of individual actions, all at the price of more bookkeeping. wireless rules are twisted and wonky, and require a hell of a lot of work on the part of the player.

SR2 offers the skill web. turn and run, now.

SR1 offers naked decking.

personal preference: none of the above, though i'll pick SR3 if a heavily-modified version of SR3 is not available.
Ranneko
Also, because it needs to be said, this topic, as you can probably guess has come up many many times, the board has a search function and it would be best to start there rather than making a new topic that covers no real new ground.
Willowhugger
Thanks.

I'll look it up.

I'm asking because a friend of mine has Shadowrun previous editions and was curious to see if I should check them out.
blakkie
If he has any of the settings books you most definately should check out some of the books. For example Threats 1/2, geographical locations like the Shadows of Xxxxx, and Shadowbeat all have some interesting color and setting information. For the most part it is independant of rules versions, although if you are worried about having really current information some of the stuff is dated.