Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newb Questions, new to GMing SR...
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Blustar
Hey guys,

I'm new to SR and there are so many supplements and adventures, versions, etc...ahhh! Anyways, I've decided on sticking to SR3 after reading the pros and cons of the system and the support material available. A couple questions...

1. What would you recommend, besides "First Run" would be a good published campaign to go with? There are so many. Which ones are GM friendly? Or is it better to wing it most of the time? Which resources do you use for winging it?

2. For some veteran GM's, how do you run your sessions? Do you use specific books?

3. Are the Matrix rules in the "matrix" really that difficult? Can you slip in the Matrix rules from SR4 into a SR3 campaign with ease? (without having to rewrite all the peripheral rules?

4.What other rules would you recommend stealing from SR4? Someone mentioned contact rules? What are they?

5. What are the essential non-rule books ( Rigger3, CC, MiTS, etc...) for SR3? (books as a GM you couldn't live with out)

Sorry for so many questions...

Blue

ps. Any of the SR novels any good?

Platinum
1. What would you recommend, besides "First Run" would be a good published campaign to go with? There are so many. Which ones are GM friendly? Or is it better to wing it most of the time? Which resources do you use for winging it?

I recommend the "missions downloads for third ed. Available here.
http://www.shadowrunrpg.com/missions/downl...R3Archive.shtml
This give you a solid base to work from, along with maps and contacts to use.
There are several different options to include in there. Simple, effective and fun.

2. For some veteran GM's, how do you run your sessions? Do you use specific books?

Main rules, shadowrun companion, cannon companion, magic in the shadows, man and machine will cover almost all your needs.