Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: A little idea
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dentris
Ok, I'm a veteran SR3 player/gmaster and just made the switch to SR4. I mostly Gmed games using the SR4 since few people i know own the new edition. I had an idea about a house rule and i want your opinion about it. (By the way, I'm sorry in advance for any grammatical error i'll probably make, but I'm not a native english-speaker)

Group Edge for Primer Runners and NPCs

For some people, the relation with fellow shadowrunners is limited to the job. For others, stronger links develop up to a point where you might even call it friendship. When this occurs, either between the member of a gang, between shadowrunners or just between close friends, the emotional tie between these individuals gives them an edge over others.

Forming a group is easy. Just get some people to hang at the same place and there you go. Forming a tied group is another matter. You need devotion, efforts and concession many people in the year 2070 aren’t ready to make. In fact, you need trust, a rare commodity in the streets. When forming such a group, every member of the group must spend a number of karma points equal to 5 plus (new group rating). A group rating gives several bonuses. First of all, the group receives a group edge pool. Just like grunts’ group edge. This edge is a separated pool from the characters’ pool and any member of the group can use it.

Also, the group itself receives a reputation. Just like a character’s reputation, a group’s reputation is split into 3 different factors: Street Cred, Notoriety and Public Awareness. They are equal to the highest member’s value or the group rating, whichever is lower. A member of the group may use these value instead of his own if he acts as a member of the group instead of using his own street identity. Whether this is the fact or not is a GM’s call.