Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Total Noob SR GM needs help, please!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Troyminator
Hi All

I played a session or two of SR about 8 years ago and loved the setting. My group moved on to other things and eventually broke up. I am currently trying to drag them kicking and screaming back. I am a moderately skilled D&D DM, but know very little of the cyberpunk/SR world and I would be the GM of the group. Here are my problems.

1) Where ideas in starting to creating a SR mission/campaign? Would street level be easier or low level/new runners? I would like to set it in Seattle because I live a couple of hours away from there.

2) What are some good 1st missions to ease us old dogs (I'm among the younger at 38) back into RPG'ing?

3) Does 4th edition have any stats for awakened critters?

I guess my real concern is how to make missions that aren't repetitive and keep them interesting and fun for my players and myself. Any hints and ideas would be most welcome.

Thanks in advance for your help and be well!

p.s. expect lots of posts from me asking questions.
GrinderTheTroll
1) Where ideas in starting to creating a SR mission/campaign? Would street level be easier or low level/new runners? I would like to set it in Seattle because I live a couple of hours away from there.

I'd suggest not doing niche type campaigns until you are more framillar with SR4 rules. Lack of money, gear and jobs does offer alternative types of runs but I'd suggest more "traditional Mr. Johnson-type" runs to get your feet wet again.

2) What are some good 1st missions to ease us old dogs (I'm among the younger at 38) back into RPG'ing?

First Run is always a good start. DNA/DOA isn't bad either, which is still SR1, but it's good some basic story elements.

3) Does 4th edition have any stats for awakened critters?

Yes. Not all of them, but enough to get by.