Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Good spells for a low magic character
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
lorechaser
Since I'm still learning the ins and outs of SR, I'm looking for a crutch from you guys.

I've settled on playing a Mystic Adept. I have a 5 magic (technically 6-1 for essence loss). I plan to devote 4 of those to my adept powers, and 1 to my spells. I'll be boosting my magic as I go, but to start, it's low.

I have the combat aspect covered with tech and equipment, so I'm not looking for that.

I have some infiltration skills from equipment and base skills, so those are covered.

So I'm looking for some suggestions of good, general use spells to pick up. I'm looking to invest about 15 points in spells, so my pool won't be huge.

My mystic adept is already specialized in counter spelling via skills and feats, so Mana Static (from the Anti-mage thread) looks pretty useful.

Are there any other really handy spells out there? I'm putting 4 points in sorcery, plus a focus of some sort, so I'll have 6 dice to roll, so I don't expect huge successes. I'm looking for spells that require a fairly small number of hits, but are likely to improve my utility to the group in general.

Butterblume
Levitate is always useful. Force 1 will let you levitate up to 200 kg, but it might be slow...
Slithery D
There really aren't any spells that are consistently useful with a magic of 1. Mana static is probably the only one, since it can't be resisted and a point of background count is a minor rather than trivial annoyance. But for pretty much anything else a Force 1 spell, limiting you to one success before resistance, is useless. With some luck you might detect a couple of people out of a crowd or fool a couple of them with invisibility, but that's not of much use. Bumping it up to Force 2 won't help much more, and probably not enough to justify the physical drain for big drain spells like Mana Static.