Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Why old school deckers would rule.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
cybertrucker
Well lets face it all for any of you that have had to use wireless connection or wifi. You would well know the issues that revolve around this. I am a truck driver and for me to be able to get online I either have to use my verizon PCI card or use a wifi hotspot. Now granted In the last 3 years I have seen tremendous improvements in the wireless internet connection capability, but lets face the facts Latency is going to be a HUGE factor for the wireless networks comparitively to hardwired terminals. As such I would see the deckers even in the future that physically plug in would get much less latency giving them a HUGE advantage over their wireless hacking counterparts.

Imagine your hacker going toe to toe with a decker when he suddenly gets a one second latency spike caused from a big truck passing by where the driver is using a high power CB.. That decker is going to make mense meat of that hacker as far as I am concerned.

Anyway just a thought and I was bored waiting for the page to load due to the lag I am getting right now with my wireless connection.
JonathanC
Yes, if only hardwired matrix connections were still valid...*sigh*.... smile.gif
Thanee
Well, that's wireless today. We are talking about wireless in 60 years.

Look back 60 years in the past... then look at what we got today.

I don't think cable lines where that stable 60 years ago, really. wink.gif

Bye
Thanee
Butterblume
Latency isn't in the rules, though.
(I think I have some pretty good working theories why bandwith doesn't matter).

Ruleswise, a hacker has in VR 1 second per phase (hot sim). Normaly that should be enough time to not be affected by lag.

@JonathanC: The hardwired matrix is still there, it builds the backbone for the wireless matrix. That's not only common sense, but somewhere in the rules cyber.gif
Thanee
QUOTE (cybertrucker)