Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The SR solar system -- what's out there?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Ian Noble
I'm a newbie to the SR setting -- I'm reading 4th ed. and love it -- and I'm curious about what lies beyond Earth. There isn't much in the core about the solar system. What's going on in orbit, with the Earth's moon, Mars, the Jupiter system, etc.? Is there a resource I should be looking for that provides some of these answers?

Thank you for any help.

- Ian
6thDragon
Shadowrun doesn't really deal with areas outside the solar system. As far as SR3 goes, there is some comments about lunar mining and other mineral exploration being conducted by some of the megacorps, S-K comes to mind, found in the corporate Download sourcebook. Also in the Target:Wastelands, some other background info can be found regarding orbital space stations and such. Hope this helps.
Ancient History
Target: Wastelands provides the most info, but in short:

A mass driver was built on Mt. Kilimanjaro in Africa, lowering the cost of boosting material into space.

Earth is orbited by a shitload of satellites, space stations, and factories. Most prominent of these is the Zurich-Orbital Habitat, home of the Corporate Court. All of the LaGrange points are occupied to some extant.

Luna hosts several megacorporate mining operations.

Evo has established a facility on Mars.

Couple others rumored.
JongWK
Ares' Helios?
Drraagh
I don't know about SR4, but in SR3, magic wasn't possible in outer space, due to the lack of the astral, living plane that surrounds the Earth and so forth. Not sure what goes on in SR4.

However, if you are interested in going on something outside Earth, CP2020 did a couple good books. Deep Space and Near Orbit. They are older books, but they can help give you some options if you can find them.
Warmaster Lah
Hah I remeber when I first found out about Shadowrun.