Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Why do you like SR?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
emo samurai
My reasons are that the game world is incredibly rich and detailed, the rules system allows for really high lethality coupled with high power levels, and the magic system is very complex and yet logical. How about you?
Shrike30
Force of habit nyahnyah.gif
Thanee
Various reasons. smile.gif

I especially like the style and that it is close enough to reality to be easily related to.

Quite realistic and still fantastic. Good mix.

Bye
Thanee
Anythingforenoughnuyen
Now it's mostly nostalgia-so many great games in the past that it has a warm place in my heart, its become more than just the current supplement and the current game-good times with good friends (I started playing when the first edition of the core rules book was the only thing in print) are bound up in how I think of the game.

Which is not to say that the things I loved about the game when I first picked it up I do not still love-mostly things still related to the atmosphere and setting. Up until played Shadowrun the only RPG I had played was D&D, so the idea of taking fantasy elements and setting them not in a quasi-historical world, but in the near (dark) future of Cyberpunk was a big deal to my middle-school psyche (the games general attitude had no difficulty finding a place in my heart then either). And the fact that Neuromancer was (and still is) one of my favorite novels probably had something to do with it.

AFE nuyen.gif
hobgoblin
our world gone slighty into the twilight zone or something wink.gif

And the fact that Neuromancer was (and still is) one of my favorite novels probably had something to do with it.

didnt gibson have a opinion about SR that's something like "choke me with a spoon!"?

err, i just noticed that the forum claims im a dragon. i feel old...
Firewall