Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dark King Mentor Spirit
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Thunderbird
Hello all,

I am new to the world of Shadowrun-4.0. I have not played since SR-2.0. I obtained the main rulebook and I was reading the magic section. I originally played a Wolf-Totem Physical Adept who became a Wolf Shaman. He then went on to become the leader of a new "pack" of adventurers. Our gaming group broke up andI did not play again. I am now getting back into a group and we are going to start playing SR-4.0.

While reading the main book I saw an entry that caught my attention. That entry being for the Dark King. It appears, from what I can see, that the Dark King is the mentor spirit for "necromancers". Is this something new that you can now summon the spirits of dead people? I don't remember this in 2.0.

Any help here???

Jaid
i wouldn't say he's the mentor spirit for necromancers per se. certainly, if you envision your magician being a necromancer type, then dark king goes well with the theme, but he also fits other themes at the same time.

in any event, the most common way (using the BBB only) to make someone who summons the spirits of dead people is to use spirits of man extensively. remember that there's no such thing as a fire elemental or a sky spirit anymore, instead we have fire spirits and air spirits... which can be made to fit almost any role imaginable between the many types of spirits available (10 if you add in street magic).

so for example, it's not that shamans no longer summon city spirits and hearth spirits... rather, they summon spirits of man (mechanically) and flavourwise summon city spirits and hearth spirits.

magicians conjure fire, water, earth, air, and man spirits mechanically, but flavourwise is conjuring elementals (don't ask what a man elemental is though... i don't think anyone is quite 100% sure on that).