Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rigging - Yea or nay?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Bizarro
Greetings all.

I'm going to start GMing a Shadowrun game within the next few weeks, and one of my players decided to make a rigger... a drone rigger, more specifically. "Cool, no problem," I thought. Fast forward a bit, and now I'm wondering if there's any way I can talk him out of it.

See, ever since I started playing SR back in '96, our GM had avoided rigging (and vehicle combat in general) like the plague, partly because no one in our group had ever expressed any interest in playing a rigger. Now it's my turn to take a crack at GMing (I've ran D&D games in the past, but never Shadowrun) - however, after reading and attempting to understand the rigging rules in both SR3/R3, I can only say that they are, in my opinion, a convuluted mess.

Honestly, not only do I not feel comfortable enough with this idea, but most of the micromanagement (of which the character would require more than the rest of the group combined) would rest on my shoulders since the player in question doesn't even have a copy of SR3, and thus has even less of a grasp on these particular rules than I do. If I allow the character, one of my main concerns is that a hefty chunk of my time will be spent looking up rigging rules, rather than focusing on running the game; a headache-inducing thought, and we haven't even started playing yet.

Would I be wrong in asking him to play a non-rigger character? I realize it seems excessive to exclude one or more character types as choices for player characters, but I can understand why some GMs choose to do so. I'd just like to get a second opinion from anyone who cares to give one. Thanks. smile.gif
Herald of Verjigorm
Get him in a room and discuss the rules.