Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Gunsmiths
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Backgammon
I started playing Max Payne 2 last night, and the warehouse level made me ask myself: how easy is it to make guns? I always thought you need a like a real factory and stuff to make firearms, but in Max Payne (and, come to think of it, Gunsmith Cats) we have this woman who works out of the second floor of a warehouse. No big mchinery, just parts and tools. This would be a great contact to have in Shadowrun.

So is the small independant gunsmith thing a reality? How does it work, to whom would this small business sell, what kind of weapons can they make, etc.?
Siege
With a machine shop, it's definitely possible.

Is it cost-effecient? Or fast? Not really.

-Siege

Edit: Remember that you would be competing with mass production.

However, gunsmiths can make a living repairing, customizing and generally tweaking weapons.

Not a great living, but in the fictional world of SR a gray market gunsmith could do well. Just think about how many times a samurai looked at his sheet and said, "Damn...I need (insert upgrade here). But I don't have the B/R skills to do it..."

S'why taking a gunsmith as a contact is a good thing. Especially one that does 24-hour call service for a marginal surcharge.

Grimtooth
Buy an action here, a barrel there, stock. BINGO instant gun

Or if you have a machine shot you can make most of the parts..i think.

Raygun would know better probly.
Sepherim
i'm not sure if it's possible in the real world, but they do exist and are quite helpfull in my campaign. Specially when you want a personalized gun made with Cannon Companion, which isn't mass-produced.
Shadow