Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cracking knowlege skill
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pendaric
The rules for the cracking knowledge skill: for retro enginering utilities from there object code to source code.
I know i have read it but I carn't find it in my books rotate.gif
Can some one give me a title and page no please? frown.gif
Pendaric
Need some help here. Anyone?
Dog
Let me see if I got this right: You believe that somewhere there are rules regarding a knowledge skill called "cracking," and that it is used to reverse engineer decking utilities. You recall reading it, but not where it is. That right?

Geez, man, I'm not a rules expert like some guys, but I'm pretty sure that I've never read that anywhere. I got a friend who studied up on 3ed decking for a recent character. I'll check with him when he's back in town.

Edit: You did look in the indexes of those books that have one, right?
Fortune
I don't recall anything of the sort in canon. Maybe you saw it on the Internet somewhere.
Pendaric
Nope definately read this in a book, remember the feel of hard copy.
Something on the lines of can only crack utilites up to equal the skill rating and takes almost as long as to program the damn thing yourself. Used by software pirates.
Ring any bells?
Bugging the hell out me, check all the SotA books and of course Matrix. Perhapes its in an adventure?
Backgammon
Rings a bell for me too. I have no idea from where though, sorry. But I can confirm your vague hunch that such rules exist.

Might be 2nd ed book come to think of it...
Moon-Hawk
Ringing a bell for me, too. Recheck SotA and Target:Matrix.
eidolon
Are you sure you aren't thinking of the "Cracker" edge from the Shadowrun Companion? That's the only thing I can think of at the moment (and without my books being here right now, I can't even be sure that I've got that right wink.gif).
Moon-Hawk