Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Medical Research Powerhouses
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Kagetenshi
Who all would be heavily involved in medical research in the Shadowrun world? Obviously DocWagon and CrashCart, but who else? Probably CATCo via Cross Biomedical, Yamatetsu through CrashCart, and Shiawase (they license most of the nanomedical devices CrashCart has, plus their massive amounts of bioware).
Who else?

~J
El_Machinae
Me!

I'm working on my cryobiology Ph.D. right now, and by 2063 I expect my company will be in full swing. As a biologist, I often enjoy predicting medical advances.

Wouldn't everyone that scores high points in the bioware section of M&M be expected to be real players in the medical industry? I mean, muscle aug is nice, but I betcha there are WAY more customers interested in staying alive when they get old
Kagetenshi
Not necessarily. Proteus AG primarily deals with bioware as it aids their specific aims of adapting metahumans to underwater conditions, Bob knows what Yakashima does, Aztechnology seems to be primarily involved in birth control and cosmetic biomods; your basic Azzie projects, feed into the base consumer. S-K does everything, but they specify that it's mostly known for sticking bioware in critters, Tan Tien does most of its research to sell to other people, and Transys mostly is in the biocomputer department, so out of those the only real possibilities for biomedical seems to be Yakashima, S-K, and maybe Aztechnology.
Note that they could still do these things, I just don't think that the descriptions of their bioware involvement suggest it.

~J
Adarael
Aztechnology as of right now is just ramping up their bioware department to top-notch.

Why?

They picked up some kind of deal with Universal Omnitech, who are the kings of all things biological.
Kagetenshi