Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New RPG Store concept
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > General Gaming
Pages: 1, 2
tisoz
I have had this fantasy/concept for over a decade, since shortly after I started playing Shadowrun and got sucked into RPGs. Everyone I have mentioned it to has shot it down, but after reading about how the FLGS sucks and is becoming obsolete, I wonder if this is a viable solution. If not, how would you design the perfect game store while hoping to keep it profitable?

What would the ideal game shop be like? How would it turn a profit? Should it be something different from what has been tried in the past?

Most Game stores I have seen have either been devoted to several types of games (rpg, board, ccg, wargame, puzzles, etc.) or more like book stores or comic book shops. People mentioned that stores like Borders or Barnes and Noble are doing a nice business. They sometimes seem like reading rooms or coffee shops from what I have seen.

I wondered if the idea of a rpg store that offered booths or rooms and sold snacks/drinks/food would be profitable. Maybe going so far as to serve all the food items through vending machines. Probably have a pay copier, too for character sheets and stuff. Vending machines would cut down on the staffing and should avoid health inspectors as opposed to actually running a small kitchen. It would in some ways be akin to a second run movie house where moviegoers get in for $1 admission but wind up shelling out close to $10 for popcorn and a drink. It would also resemble the coffee area of the Barnes and Noble, people may not be spending money for every book or magazine they read, but they are paying for refreshments.

One could probably get a discount rate with a pizza place and let them psuedo cater while you play middle man to your clientel. Other food types could possibly work. Or simply stock cafeteria type vending machines serving a variety of food.