Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Healing in adverse conditions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
sunnyside
I'm new to SR4 and I've got a character who'll be trying to heal next session. Anyway I was wondering if any of the modifiers aply to healing tests or if they only apply if someone wants to use medicine.

On one hand it makes sense. If you're trying to heal without any meds alone under a shrub in the amazon basin it should take longer than if you're in a nice hospital with meds, skilled care, fresh bandages etc.

And in reality if you have nasty wounds in the amazon scenario it makes sense that you might die (because if you're only rolling 1d6 you'll get a critical glitch for every two hits you get, so you're as likely to die as heal)

If modifiers only effect use of the medicine skill I suppose that kind of makes sense too, except people pretty much regenerate then and you'll always heal up in short order.
fistandantilus4.0
I'd say it would be harder because you have wonderful littel things to factor in like infections.

Personally I don't like the SR4 healing system, I prefer the 3rd edt version, but I would apply the modifiers. Good way to reflect the difficult conditions he's in, unless you do want to acutally give him an infection.
Thane36425
Its not just infection but more environmental conditions.

For example: A good bed in a hosptial that has airconditioning, is clean, and has food and water brought to you would be top of the line, short of emergency room care.

Compare that to being at home (SR4 version). A not so good bed, things are a bit dusty and cluttered, you have to get your own food and water or order delivery.

Street level would be squatting in a filthy building on the floor, no climate control, terrible food and sanitation and the constant worry about the other street types who might do you in while you're weak.