Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Resisting Drain
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Banaticus
I'm new to SR4 and magical characters in Shadowrun. How is it possible to resist drain?

Let's say that a person has an attribute and skill both at 6. That's 12. I can expect 1/3 of those dice to be successes, for 3 successes. But I can expect 1/6 of those dice to be 1's, for 2 1's. That a total of only 1 net success, right? How then can someone resist anything higher than 1 drain?
Serbitar
1s dont reduce hits. As long as you dont glitch, just ignore 1s.

And BTW 12/3 = 4 not 3.
Butterblume
Since skill has nothing to do with resisting drain, I think you misread something somewhere wink.gif.
Banaticus
Ok, instead of "an attribute and skill both at 6." I should have said "an attribute and an attribute both at 6." smile.gif

So, since drain is resisted by a double attribute roll and since attributes are pretty expensive to raise and since it requires three extra dice to give an average of one more success, the drain of a spell would seem to be the "cap" for magic? The one thing that's harder to overcome than anything else?
lorechaser
Drain is the primary limiter, yes.

Especially since you can overcast for twice your magic value, but you take physical damage.

Drain is used when balancing spells as well - more powerful spells have higher drain, more focused have less.

Note also that drain cannot be healed by magical means!
Demerzel
Add centering once you initiate.

More like the limiter than the cap. You can shoot some big loads and just eat the pain, but you'll have to stop sooner than if you fire off a lot of smaller spells. Stun damage is just a matter of a coupple hours rest.
knasser