Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Gunshot Directionality
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Strobe
Ok, imagine this situation:

Runners are strolling down the street. It is fairly quiet and they are in a built up area. A gun shot rings out. How difficult would it be for them to work out the direction the shooter is in by listening? Note that it isn't necessarily them that is being shot at.

I would imagine it would be rather difficult as the sound would echo around the hard surfaces of the surrounding buildings and street.

I have a reasonable knowledge of how sound works and how you work out directionality (I work as an audio technician) but don't really know how it would work with a gun shot as I am not familiar with the sound.

So, I would like to see some discussion on how this would work in real life and also how you would handle it with the SR rules.

Ideas?

-Strobe
Fix-it
for a human it would be a bit difficult. even more so if the person is smart and uses a sound suppressor.

for a sensor system it would be cake. two or more directional audio sensors.

after that it's all trig.
Strobe
QUOTE (Fix-it)
for a human it would be a bit difficult. even more so if the person is smart and uses a sound suppressor.

I'm looking for the human angle here. Also you can assume they aren't using suppression or a silencer.

I seem to remember that Lone Star were trained to listen out for gun shots from their standard issue weapons to provide backup. How would they be able to do that without knowing where the shot was fired? At least a behind or in front type directionality.

Generally we humans have trouble playing the direction of low frequency noise. What sort of frequency does a gun shot produce?

-Strobe
HappyDaze
Since damn near everyone carries a commlink, you should just get an audio pickup with the needed hardware. Network with a few of your buddies and you can triangulate in on it in no time. Sniping is dead.
cetiah
QUOTE (Strobe)