Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I read Runner Havens and then read New Seattle
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Eleazar
I have only read the Seattle part of Runner Havens and I must say it doesn't even compare to the wealth of information given in New Seattle. It is almost as if Runner Havens has expected you to read New Seattle first and then update you on the current goings on in Seattle. Reading New Seattle is just making things "click" more. Realize I am somewhat new to Shadowrun. I just feel one gets a heck of a lot more bang for you buck if you go with New Seattle, if Seattle information is what your in for. You will probably need Runner Havens still because it does assist in letting you know what is going on currently and has some nice tidbits. I haven't read the Hong Kong or other sections yet and am basing my judgment on the Seattle coverage, which is really the only place I play.

The biggest shocker of this is that SR4 is allegedly catered to the new player. I would like to know what their definition of new is. That section on Seattle is just incredibly lacking compared to New Seattle. It makes me wonder why they even did it. It seems like something they just decided to do to throw a bone to people interested in Seattle. Reading New Seattle is clearing up misconception I had about Seattle due to the Runner Havens section. There just isn't enough information to get a full view of the game world there.

Does anyone else feel the same way?
JonathanC
Yeah, Runner Havens was kind of disappointing as a setting book. The Seattle books have gotten less and less content-heavy with each new edition, really. The same can be said of the other "city" type books...compare The Anarchist's Guide to North America to Target: UCAS, and then to Shadows of North America.
cetiah