Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How deckers become deckers?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pendaric
What I would like to do in this thread is compile a list of how deckers learn their skills and gain their decks.
Some of the best deckers have gone:
School, college, computer degree at university, then corp/goverment then into the shadows.
They take their decks with them.

In Slammo's case he was born into the shadows and learned his skills from his parents and parents friends. Presumably he got a deck from them as well.

What are the others?
Ravor
Well, if you referring to the offical characters then I'm not sure, but I once playeda Mage in a game where the Decker was largely self-taught and built his own deck using Engineering knowledge and blueprints found on the 'Trix. (True, he wasn't the best Decker out there, and his Deck didn't start out that great, but it was enough that we managed to scrape by.)
Rajaat99
My Decker was the son of a well-to-do corp executive. His father bought him a deck to keep him busy and out of his hair. He started running with the "wrong crowd" in the Matrix and learned his skills from them.
He got a better deck after stealing some of his fathers money and disappeared into the shadows.
Pendaric
I thought of another.
Born on the streets, gang, syndicate, freelance runner.
cREbralFIX