Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Armor reduction from hits
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Traks
As it is, in SR succesful hits do not decrease your armor. I think that it should be houseruled, and made it like: for every penetration roll 1D6, if the result is higher than armor rating, reduce armor rating by 1. So weakest armors will vanish after few succesful hits, while military armor will be, well, military quality smile.gif Haven't thought out the whole idea to the core though...

How you handle such things, or let everyone wear their armor for years, through thousands of fights and not repairing/buying new piece of armor?
Sphynx
I disagree. I'm no expert on modern body armour, but I have a friend who once showed me a vest that had been shot up heavily. The armour value of it was definitely unchanged, but the black cloth that covered those grey protective sheets had more holes than cheese. He said he could even take out the kevlar and replace it if it ever did go bad.

Anyhows, point being that modern armour (I think) soaks damage instead of attempting to stop it like medieval style armour. The armour isn't solid, but rather flexible to absorb the attack. I don't think it goes bad (at least not fast enough to require House Rules or deterioration rules).

If you want a more Canon ruling, check out pages 85 and 86 of SRComp. SOTA is a nice way to make people replace their armours if you think they should. It reduces Ballistic by 1 point until it's replaced.

But in general, I think it's a bad idea.

Sphynx
Backgammon
There are armour degradation rules in CC
Siege
I'm sure more expert opinions than mine will weigh in on this subject, but:

Modern kevlar is done in layers, instead of a single plate like medieval armor.

Modern armor also has strategically placed "trauma plates" which are like bits of medieval armor, designed to stop high velocity projectiles.