Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What motivates you GM's?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Abbandon
What eactly motivates a games master to want to run the story and be the bad guys over wanting to be just one of the players?? I have a pretty cool idea for shadowrun campaigne but I'd much rather be a player in it then actually run it.

I cant see the fun in not having a character who developes and grows. Im not very good at making other people happy before making myself happy first.

So any tips or advice or just reasons why you enjoy being a GM??
BishopMcQ
For our group, we alternate. There are three people who enjoy being a GM out of our eight players, and so we take turns. This leads to everyone getting a chance to play, which we all like.

As a GM, I take pleasure in telling the story. Being a GM is like being the narrator in your own personal novel. I setup challenges and scenarios that will be difficult but with a little bit of courage, luck and skill, the heroes/anti-heroes as portrayed by the players will be able to overcome.

When my players come up with a clever way of bypassing an objective, or take a route I didn't foresee, I applaud them for it. I think too often, people think that because the GM plays the collected armies of thugs, goons and "bad guys" it must be GM vs Players. While this may work for some people, and I know a few GMs who enjoy the TPK, it doesn't work for my style. If I TPK my group, all the work that I have done prepping my campaign is completely wasted, because the players won't want to come back to that story, their next group of characters will be different and I am back to square one.

It's not about making them happy so that you are happy, it's about everyone being happy at the same time. I spend just as much time smiling and joking with my players from behind the screen as I do across the table when I'm a player myself.
fistandantilus4.0