Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Metahuman Questions circa 2070
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Degausser
So, I'm making a character for a shadowrun campaign, and I'm new to fourth edition, (but I played third.)

So, I wanted to make an ork ('cuse I'd never played non-humans before) so, when writing a backstory, I wanted to make my character born to some Humanis humans. Then I had the question:

Are Non-humans born still born to human parents (UGE or whatever) in 2070, or has that pretty much stopped? The book provides little insight that I've found. The only thing it has to say is: (in the base book on page 66)

"When Sapiens are born to Ork mothers, they will express robustus at puberty roughly 95% of the time."

Does this mean that Ork "children" (under the age of puberty) look like humans? Or does it mean that roughly 5% of the time, ork mothers will give birth to a non- ork?

Lastly, an idea for a character is that he changed during SURGE (the year of the comet) but little information is actually given about SURGE. Am I missing something? What was SURGE?
fistandantilus4.0
IIRC, there are still a few people that express (UGE) into orks or trolls at puberty, but it's pretty rare. Occassionally there are some troll families that birth a human child, but it expresses late. No more elves or dwarves born to pure human parents though.

SURGE is a UGE like effect that effects peopel across the boards. It happend in '61-62, during the Year of the Comet, apparently due to higher mana levels. It affected mostly mundane humans, having apparently "random" effects. Some grew a third eye, tails, astral vision, some expressed in to trolls, gills, etc. It 's all in the book year of the Comet.
knasser