Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Diseases in RPGs
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Wounded Ronin
I recently started playing Betrayal at Krondor as abandonware. It is my first time playing the game and I did not play it back in 1993. One of the many things which can happen to characters in BAK is a disease status. Typically, there are certain encounters that will inflict a disease state on the party, such as attempting to explore a house which is considered to contain a diseased individual, or certain random encounters where the enemies theoretically have pelted you with diseased materials. (I've gotten the disease status from that encounter even when the opponents did not succeed in striking any of my PCs a single time.) Since I work in a health field these events actually annoyed me tremendously because in reality there are practically speaking no diseases you're going to encounter which are that contagious. Personally, I've been in the same room as people with tuberculosis, including active TB, over a period of nearly two years and I have not been infected. A doctor I know who personally sees and evaluates each patient on the island hasn't been infected even though he's seen new and suspected cases face to face with no masks or anything for many years now. The way that diseases and illnesses are handled in role playing games is very unrealistic and for me that always hurts my suspension of disbelief.

Now I have to relate this to Shadowrun so that the mods don't poleaxe me.

This is similar to becoming infected by a ghoul in Shadowrun. I don't have my sourcebooks with me and haven't seen them for 2 years so my memory is becoming increasingly faded but as I recall the only condition which is required to infect your character is a single successful ghoul melee attack. Therefore, the treatment of infectious diseases in Shadowrun is similar to the treatment in most RPGs; that is to say, transmission is unrealistically easy.