Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Decking made fun and easy?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dvalin
Hey folks;

I'm just getting into GMing Shadowrun -- and, unfortunately, both I and my group are fairly new to the system as a whole. That said -- our first experiments ended up being wetwork with lovely (meaning high) bodycounts. I've stated outright that I'm going to try to guide these folk (with new characters) into quieter, cleaner runs, with Johnsons that generally will want discretion.

That said, the previous experiences made decking seem rather dull or monotonous. What tips do you guys have for making interesting decking situations? Are there FAQs, guides or sample decking runs you'd recommend I read? I plan on having the decker, generally, serve as information retrieval, surveillance and the eye-in-the-sky that helps whomever is going in -- but would certainly like any tips you all would care to give.

-Dvalin
Dvalin
...and then, after having thought I had done a good search, I find the Community Support for the Matrix-Challenged thread. Doh.

Well, any further advice or recommendations will be much appreciated -- namely how to lure in some poor, unsuspecting sod, or how to insure that a poor, unsuspecting sod has a fair amount of fun with this. wink.gif
Digital Heroin
The Matrix can be a wild and wooly place... it's as fun as your imagination can make it... few hosts are actually boring... it's all in the arcitecture my friend...
Synner
My suggestion is to ease into it. Start with an NPC decker and have the players realize how important his role is. Maybe take a player on a run with hitcher jacks. See who might be interested in deckers and a little further down the line kill off the NPC (around the same time the player's character bites it) and ask him if he'd be interested in giving a decker a shot.
Pistons
QUOTE (Digital Heroin)