Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Defending against ranged weapons
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Sedna
QUOTE (Jaid)
if nothing else, replace dodge with gymnastics... you have a melee skill that you can use as long as you can move, and gymnastics allows full dodge outside of melee. if possible, the entire athletics skill group is nice.

Is this accurate? I'd thought Gymnastics + AG v. ranged combat was only possible with full defence.

Edit: correcting to Gymnastics + RE, not AG. I knew better. Really I did!
Critias
From what I understand (I'm no expert) it's Reaction (alone) versus most ranged attacks, but Reaction + Gymnatics versus ranged attacks on a full dodge (or whatever the term is, an instance where you sacrifice an action in order to try not to get shot).
FrankTrollman
It's Reaction alone versus a Ranged Attack normally.
With Full Defense it's Reaction + Gymnastics. Agility does not apply under any circumstances.

-Frank
Sedna
I did mean RE. Correcting the first post now.
Critias
The overall point of the initial post is that Dodge really isn't as "worth it" if you've already got a melee skill. If you're not a combat guy? Sure, buy Dodge, because you can "double dip" in it (if you're just a geeky Hacker or scrawny Mage who wants to not get hit) and use it against both ranged and melee attacks.

But if you're already good in melee, and can take advantage of block and parry instead... Dodge isn't as worth it. You've got melee defense covered, right? So buy Gymnastics, instead. You can use Gymnastics the same way you can use Dodge versus ranged attacks, and your character will have all the other stuff the Gymnastics skill normally gives (jumping and tumbling and junk like that).

You're not paying for half a skill, the way you would be with Dodge, basically.
Glyph