Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How much Karma?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
war_m0nger
Greetings. I'm new to 4th edition - until last Saturday, I hadn't played since the early 90's. So, now I'm trying to put together a game and I'm trying to get an idea as to how much Karma everybody's awarding at the end of their runs.

I know the book recommends 5-10 per adventure, but it seems like that would make it take forever for the characters to get anywhere. The skill and attribute Karma point buys are so high that if you're playing once every few weeks, it would take several months just to increase one of your attributes.

So... how does this system work for you all? Does anyone else have a system they use that they like better?
Moon-Hawk
If you like a game that advances faster feel free to double (or whatever) the karma awards.
The only potential pitfall of changing things is that different types of characters need different resources (money vs karma) to improve, and a very large imbalance between the two could start to favor some characters over others. Of course, if you want a higher powered fast advancing game, you'll probably be giving out larger payoffs per run that the game expects, so you should have no problem.
DireRadiant
The system I use is called Search.

There are several game rewards besides karma as well. You need to balance between Nuyen, what that nuyen buys, contacts and connections gained and lost, Karma (or BP rewards), and in game item rewards. In addition to that you need to factor in what your players want, what you want, apply the appropriate modifiers and multipliers, run some math, and then end up with a WAG and do whatever you need to do to have the most fun.

I usually go by the "slightly less then the players want" measure, that way they might come back the next week.
Eryk the Red