Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Slight problem with my players
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
fourstring_samurai
I'm a fairly veteran Shadowrun game master, having run it since 2nd edition with various groups. with my current group (in our first 4th edition game) i'm having trouble getting my players to memorize some basic rules. they're all experienced players from various game systems, though two are completely new to SR. all of them own or have access to the BBB.

let it be known that they are very good players who like to contribute, roleplay very well, rarely metagame or powergame, and are interested in the game world. but...

first, most of them have no idea how to use their commlinks (or how their commlinks work). i've explained it a number of times. luckily the team's hacker is an npc. usually all they use their comms for is text messaging each other, which they treat pretty much as a magic function with no regards to needing trodes, datajack, skinlink, etc. this also has been explained a few times.

second, a few of them haven't really delved into the basic rules for their character concepts, though i forgive the mage because she doesn't own the BBB. However, last night the rigger asked what a control rig was. and mostly her vehicle use plans involve not using her vehicles to do anythng but taxi around the team. i honestly think she'd do more if she'd learn her true capabilities. each time i explain to her that she can do A,B, or C, she's surprised. that's the worst example, but it exists in each player to some degree. like the ork shitkicker who is surprised he has X,Y, and Z penalty to his current action even though he just preformed several distracting (or damaging) things to get to where he currently is, or the mage asking about how her spells and drain work. (again, forgiven for lack of the BBB)

to reiterate, they're a great group. but in some respects they are a bit lazy.