Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Eta Engineering & the Zubayr Chong Clan
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
GhostLight
Hi fellows!

I'm a newbie on this board and in the Shadowrun universe itself. Just started playing Shadowrun (4th edition) a couple of months ago.

I've got a question concerning the Shadowrun background (hope somebody can help me):

In Runners Haven, p. 75 is written:
Ironically, the Zubayr-Chong clan runs this rich corporation founded by East Asian immigrants, but occupies the lowest caste of the local Asiatic community.

It seems to me, that the author of the text wants to point out something, but I didn't get it yet. Is there anything more he wants to point out, than the fact, that a rich family own s a company which offers poor Asiatic immigrants shitty jobs and makes a lot of money by cleaning the polluted city of Seattle?

Does anybody have any further information to this "Zubayr-Chong clan"? The name appears to be a mix of arabic and chinese ...

Eta Engineering is mainly operating in Tacoma. An area which is famous for underworld groups fighting against each other on a daily basis. Does this mean, that this company has ties to some crime organisation as well? Maybe the Triads?

It says as well, that Shiawase is the big competitor of Eta Engineering in Tacoma and that there are responsible for the contaminated areas in the Tacoma district.
How would these two competitors battle each other in the shadows? Maybe there would be some kind of replacement war between Yakuza (Shiawase) and Triads (EtaEngineering).

What I want to ask if it could possibly be that this is just a replacement for the conflict between the two dragons Lung (RedDragonTriad) & Ryomo(Yakuza). It's just an idea for a chronicle.

What does the community think about it?

Hope it is understandable what I want to say - English isn't my native tongue - that's why it's sometimes a bit difficult for me to make myself clear.

Eurotroll