Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New shadowrun GM looking for advice
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Lyonheart
Hi all, I'm new to Shadowrun, but after a few games I am hooked. I'm looking to try and spread the love to another gaming group that has never played. So I will be the GM, any advice tips ect. to a new shadowrun GM.

The plot I'm working is titled "A Fist Full of Newyen" on is a blatant ripoff of the Clint Eastwood movie with the similar name, set on a small Caribbean Island, with two groups of Cyberpirates/Smugglers as the opposing gangs. I'm going for a Miami Vice meets Ghost in the Shell: SAC feel. Ideas, Thoughts?
bjorn
I'm sorry for asking this, but is there something specific your are looking for or need help on or are you just asking what people think of the plot?
Method
Welcome to the fold, Lyonheart. ork.gif

The setting you are envisioning is pretty cool, but you're drawing on some very diverse influences, which could cause you some difficulty (i.e.- it might be hard to work in the thematic elements of high seas cyberpiracy without diverging from GitS or vice versa). Of coarse if you are experienced in GMing other game systems you might do just fine.

Also if you are trying to sell people on SR you might consider a more mainstream setting and tone- the influences you are drawing on make for a very cool specialized campaign but most people are drawn to the more stock SR settings and themes and then discover niche locales (like the Caribbean) as they begin to explore the 6th world.

But if you're set on the campaign you've described please feel more than free to disregard my input and go for it!! biggrin.gif
Glyph
The biggest trouble will be that the players won't know that they are supposed to play both sides off against each other, and ultimately take both of them down, and are likelier to pick one side or another, or indescriminately battle both sides whenever a hapless evil minion gets in shooting range.