Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Powerlevel and Lethality
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Zuzuzu
Hi everyone. I'm new to the SR system and some of its' practical aspects are unclear to me, so I thought maybe Dumpshock regulars will share their experience with the topic.

When I started studying game mechanics and comparing it with related and familiar Old WoD, it seemed that hurting the target would be difficult - defence pools are mostly greater than damage... but then it suddenly became clear to me that DV in SR is not a pool, but a full number. OMG. A little playtesting resulted in a number of dead bodies roughly equivalent to a number of init passes. If I got my numbers right, even being a dodge-happy troll in tuned up military armor, heavily 'wared toward subdermals and reaction, doesn't seem to protect enough unless you are full defensing all the time.

So, as the question in topic description goes, how do you stay alive in combat? What tactics, gear, 'ware to use, what to ditch, what dice pools to aim at? What do fights look like in your campaigns? Thanks in advance.
Critias
Cheat. Don't be afraid to dodge. Use cover. Gang up. Ambush. Toss smoke, flash-bang, etc, grenades. Stack modifiers that you're able to neutralize (thanks to superior tech). Learn when to fire single shots, bursts, long bursts, and aimed shots. Learn when not to fight at all. Throw grenades. Learn when to use Edge.

And, most of all, remember that fights are dangerous, and SHOULD be. That's why real people in real life with real guns and real training don't like to get into them.
Ravor
I have to second what Critias said, pull every dirty trick that you can think of.
kzt