Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: No Cyberpsychosis?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Turtle
From a FAQ about Shadowrun, a quote I found while googling for the topic...

CYBERWARE

(>) I've heard the word "cyberpsychosis" and want to know if it applies in
Shadowrun too.

Cyberware doesn't have an impact on your character's personality -- as
such, cyberpsychosis (violent behavior due to excessive cyberware
implants) does not exist in Shadowrun.
One side-effect of cyberware, though, is that people who interact with an
extensively cybered character may react negatively due to the character's
less-than-human appearance. However, this is a social thing and not
psychological.

Reference: Cyberware (pp. 60 & 296), Cyberware And Social Interaction (p.
93)

Now...just judging from all the characters I read about in the books and the stories...and the impression the whole essence/cyberware thing made on me since I started playing Shadowrun 12 years back...this sounds hokey.

What's your take on it? smile.gif
Dashifen
QUOTE (Turtle)
From a FAQ about Shadowrun, a quote I found while googling for the topic...

CYBERWARE

(>) I've heard the word "cyberpsychosis" and want to know if it applies in
Shadowrun too.

Cyberware doesn't have an impact on your character's personality -- as
such, cyberpsychosis (violent behavior due to excessive cyberware
implants) does not exist in Shadowrun.
One side-effect of cyberware, though, is that people who interact with an
extensively cybered character may react negatively due to the character's
less-than-human appearance. However, this is a social thing and not
psychological.

Reference: Cyberware (pp. 60 & 296), Cyberware And Social Interaction (p.
93)

Now...just judging from all the characters I read about in the books and the stories...and the impression the whole essence/cyberware thing made on me since I started playing Shadowrun 12 years back...this sounds hokey.

What's your take on it? smile.gif