Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Summoning materials ?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Professeur
Hi everybody,

I'm kinda new to SR4, I've played a bit of SR3 before. The thing is, I've never played a spellcaster in these systems before, and I'd like to play one for a change.

I think I understand most if not all of the magic part of the game, except for this one annoying detail. Summoning materials. I've seen them mentioned in the gear section of the BBB, with no explanation as to what they are. The only part I've found about materials in the summoning section is about binding materials, which are not even mentioned in the gear section.

So, what's the deal with them ? What are they ? Do we need them ? How do they work ?
Ancient History
's an error. Should be Binding Materials, Force x 500 nuyen.gif

Corrected in the next printing, I'm told.
Professeur
Thanks for the quick reply. By the way I really enjoy the Ancient Files site you set up, I congratulate you on the work you've done there.
b1ffov3rfl0w
If you haven't seen this you should:

http://www.shadowrun4.com/wordpress/index.php?cat=4
JBlades
Ah, and here I was after seeing the thread title all ready to launch into a list of items that could comprise "summoning materials"...

*shuffles off to stuff his never-useful esoteric trivia knowledge back into the shoe box under the bed*
b1ffov3rfl0w
Well hey, that sounds like a fun list-o-stuff. Chalk for drawing a big circle, a fox hair, crushed rubies, what?
JBlades
Chalk/paint, salt, candles for the quarters in different colors according to that tradition's correspondances, herbs, crystals/stones, incense, magickal tools possibly including: knives (athame, boline), ceremonial bowls with water and earth, censors, staff, and a sword. In some shamanic traditions you might be using parts like animal hair or bones, drums, spirit shields, etc.