Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Change of the Guard
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Particle_Beam
Every runner should know when it’s time to cut and run, right?

In a sense, that time has come for me. I’ve been working on Shadowrun for 10 years now — half of its lifespan. I started as an editor at FASA, moved on to be assistant SR developer under Mike Mulvihill until FASA closed, took over the line a few months later for FanPro, and then jumped ship with it to Catalyst. I started right before the conversion to Third Edition, and then three years ago led the charge to Fourth Edition. Three editions, three game companies.

I’m not the type of person who sticks with jobs I don’t like. In fact, I pretty much refuse to work on anything that I don’t gain some sort of personal satisfaction from. No mundane wage slavery for me. So I think it says something about what a fun and interesting job this has been that I’ve stuck with it for so long. There have been some glitches and low points of course, but overall it’s been a very enjoyable experience.

To be blunt, however, I’m burnt out on Shadowrun. I’ve been burnt out for awhile, actually. It happens. Unfortunately, this is not the type of job that’s easy to take a break from — the deadlines don’t stop coming, and I haven’t had a backup person who could take over full time. Even though I’ve been feeling the need to move on, I’ve also wanted to see Fourth Edition along at least through the core rulebooks. Now that Unwired is off to layout, I feel complete. Especially as that book goes a long way towards dealing with some of the shortcomings we’ve still faced with the SR4 matrix rules.