Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: the basics of Tactical Vehicle Combat
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
mike_the_fish
Alrighty folks, I am a newbie at SR4, but a veteran of the previous 2 editions. I am going to start up a new SR Missions campaign this weekend, and I want to get the nuts and bolts of vehicle combat down before that happens. I have read the SR4 faq, and done some forum searching, but haven't been able to locate what I need.

Here's the deal, one of my players is playing a Rigger. His concept is that his character is a total recluse that refuses to actually meet anyone in person. When he does personally go out on runs, he never leaves the confines of his Daihatsu-Caterpillar Horseman. This is going to make a bunch of situations where the Tactical Vehicle Combat rules are utilized. Here's my hang-up - the rules say that a vehicle driver must make at least one Complex Action controlling his vehicle, or it goes out of control at the end of the turn.

1) When does the Complex Action have to be used? Can it be used in the first Initiative Pass? In the last?

2) Does it have to be spent every time the Horseman moves? Like if the Horseman is involved in a gunfight in an office building, and it simply drives across the room, does that require a Vehicle Test?

3) Can the vehicle just move around anywhere it wants, or is it's movements restricted by some sort of maneuverability limitations.

4) If the Horseman isn't moving, but does have the engine running, and is active, can it still defend against attacks using Reaction, or full defense.

5) When the driver is making a Vehicle Test, the vehicle's guns can still be fired using Pilot and gunnery programs, right?

thanks for the help all.
Adarael
Answers as I see them:

1) No idea. I don't think it matters.
2) Strictly rules-wise, yes. Logically, no. He can just tell the pilot to move him across the room, as long as he's getting from A to B.