Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mages Vrs Shamans Vrs Mystic Adepts.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
evilgoattea
Hi,

I am a newbie to Shadowrun 4th Edition, and so far im almost through the magic chapter and pretty much understand everything I have read thusfar. However I have a few questions about these three "classes".

1.) Besides the roleplay aspects what are the fundament differences between Shamans and Mages? Are their advantages of being a mage over a shaman and vice versa? I know there are some "aspects printed underneth the traditions ex Detection: Water for Shamans...what does that even mean?

2.) Where does a mystic adept fall into all of this? Do they need to select a tradition as well.

-Josh
Daier Mune
not a magic expert, but as i understand it the only differences between traditions are drain attributes and spirit selection.
Tarantula
1) Drain resistance/spirit associations to spell categories. Same differences as with any other tradition.
Detection: Water for a shaman means that in the case of a bound water spirit, for example, a shaman could have it use its Aid Sorcery service for any detection spell he is casting.

2) Mystic adepts do need to select a tradition as well.
paws2sky
QUOTE (evilgoattea @ Apr 22 2008, 10:06 AM) *
Hi,

I am a newbie to Shadowrun 4th Edition, and so far im almost through the magic chapter and pretty much understand everything I have read thusfar. However I have a few questions about these three "classes".

1.) Besides the roleplay aspects what are the fundament differences between Shamans and Mages? Are their advantages of being a mage over a shaman and vice versa? I know there are some "aspects printed underneth the traditions ex Detection: Water for Shamans...what does that even mean?

2.) Where does a mystic adept fall into all of this? Do they need to select a tradition as well.

-Josh

1) Different Drain attributes. Different Spirits. Shamans are supposed to have a Mentor Spirit.