Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Making Google Earth Movies For Less Than $400
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
DocTaotsu
I really want to use Google Earth during my games but we rarely game somewhere with a ready net connection. I particularly like being able to do the "We have satellite recon" and show them falling out of the sky into whatever remote godforsaken place they have to go to this week.

Google Earth can do this... for 400 dollars.

No thank you.

So any suggestions? Good cheap/free program that will let me record what I'm doing on my desktop as a video? Some other method I'm missing?
vladski
Well, if you know where your characters are running before the game, jsut use Google Earth and do a screen cap of each zoom step in to your target.

Download and use this software if you don't already have a screen grabber of your own. I have been using AnalogX's Capture program for a good 7 years or so and it works on everything from Win95 to Vista. It's safe, tiny and very easy to use. I give it a 10/10 as an indispensible computer utility.

You could then:

1. Display these pics in a slideslow format, or

2. Make one large animated gif out of them using any of scads of free, downloadable animated gif programs. Then jsut display it in a Firefox or IE window.

I'll take a quick swing around the internet to see if there any Google Earth-type downloads for housing offline available for free. But, I'd say don't hold your breath, as the the TON of maps it takes to create such a database to house on your own computer is pretty daunting.

Vlad
raverbane
I luv Google Earth and use it alot in my games, as well.

I tend to use an old--tech solution.

'PrtSc' + Windows Paint + cntV. Rinse, Repeat
CanRay
QUOTE (raverbane @ Apr 22 2008, 05:45 PM) *
'PrtSc' + Windows Paint + cntV. Rinse, Repeat

I had a job in which this was, literally, part of the techniques I had to use to migrate from an old database to the new one.
krakjen