Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie with questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Ruin-Gar
Hello, I'm new to Shadowrun as a whole, and have some questions. I have my hard-copy of the core rules in the mail, and I'm borowing a friend's copy for reference until it arrives. I'm going to be running of game pretty soon, so I thought I'd ask some questions while I set up my campaign arc, and familiarize myself with the rules.

1) One player in my game wants to run some sort of support character. He's used to playing the Cleric in D&D, so I thought a mage with Heal spells would be useful. What other spells or traits should he look into (or rather, me, since I'll probably do the bulk of PC gen).

2) I have a player with a learning disability, and reading and math are kind of tough for him. Since he doesn't really want to use one of the pre-genned characters in the core book, what kind of build would be good to direct him towards, with a minimum of work? He'll probably play soem sort of bulky combat-tank, but I want to make sure character creation and play are as smooth and problem free as I can make it for him.

3) This last one is completely setting related. I've noticed talk of Dubai being a modern equivilent of a cyberpunk city. Is there anything in the setting regarding Dubai? It sounds like an interesting place to hold a 'Run, instead of just Seattle.

Thanks for any help, in advance.
reepneep
I'll take a swing at the first two.

The heal spells would work fine but you can add so much more to a mage in SR. A few spells to aid information gathering would be a good idea. Counterspelling and summoning/banishing would be pretty good choices for a support mage as well. Another angle you could take is the ambulance driver rigger: wheelman with an M.D. A GMC Bulldog with a medical shop built into the back and a medkit when hes out and about on foot would work quite well. Add a couple of drones and some solid technical skills to round him out.