Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rookie player looking for help
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
ayago
Hi everyone, I'm a rookie that is getting into a campaign. We're gonna have 2 players, the other guy is a complete newbie to Shadowrun, I've played the Genesis game and a little in book 1. I'm told that one of us needs to be able to do some hacking, and I was wondering if anyone can help point me in a direction, kinda overwhelmed by the book so far. We're going a 425 point build if that helps.

Thanks in advance!
swammeyjoe
I'm still pretty new to the game (playing since January) but I'll try to answer your question.

If you have the main rule book, look in the section on character archtypes. There is a hacker in there that you can use if you don't want to create a character. There are also several character generators on the net that you can download that help you with stuff like BP and attribute limits and all that good stuff. As for learning the rules, well, I would suggest reading over the chapter on the Wireless world and hacking at least once, so you are familiar with all the things your character can do. Beyond that, I would need specifics.
Dr Funfrock
I strongly reccomend to your GM that if s/he is running a two player game, they need to provide an NPC hacker. The hacking rules are simple enough, but very poorly explained, and just add another layer of complication to an already complicated game.

Ideally one of your two PCs should be a mage, because they are incredibly versatile, the other should take a mix of social skills and combat skills, backed up with plenty of cyber/bio ware. That will cover all of your essential party roles. The NPC hacker does matrix overwatch, and deals with most of the electronic security, the mage deals with magical security and the other guy deals with physical (by talking or shooting their way through it).
Aaron
Welcome to Dumpshock, new folks!