Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Some fiction that I have written - do I go on?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
peacehammer
Hi all,

I have started writing some Shadowrun fiction based on the life of a Rat Shaman. I would like some feedback, as I am a fairly slow writer, and I would like to know whether it is worth my time continuing in any form.

-Ok, if this works it should be below.

Some notes: The text is intentionally disjointed, it is based on hopping around different memories, the present, and quotes from Novatech.

bits in [square brackets] are notes to myself to add some details, normally a date/time stamp, or something which I have to look up, or create from scratch.

The working title of the book is "Urban Rat", and is based on a shadowrun character that I created (+ copious back story, which is rare for me), and never used.

-Oh, and I haven't worked out what his second name is...

It begins:

Title?: Urban Rat in the Corporate Jungle
Chapter one:
Corporate Extraction: One year on.
[time/date stamp]

I spend my life ducking and diving, saving my skin and trying to make the occasional honest Nuyen. Unfortunately, dishonest ones are easier to find, but harder to get. I suppose this lifestyle is suitable for a rat. Whatever else I am, I prefer to think of myself as an accountant. Profit and loss, income and expenditure. I know that I have lost a lot recently.

I was not always an urban rat, I started in one of the mega corps, Novatech to be precise, in one of their safe secure nests for people like me. I was once one of their favourites, now I am now hunted for what I know, and what I am.

[Novatech corporate statement – in official looking writing]

They try to come over as the ‘nice’ corp, the one who helps small corner shops and people in need. What they don’t tell you about are the ones who don’t toe the line, the renegades, the non conformists, the ones who don’t add up.